ChildrensZone
 



The Train To Impossible Places
P. G. Bell

9781474957410

Synopsis:
When Suzy hears a strange noise in the middle of the night, she creeps downstairs to find a train roaring through her house. But this is no ordinary train. This is the magical delivery express for the Union of Impossible Places. Whisked on board by a troll-boy, Suzy's world is turned upside down when she's asked to deliver a cursed package to a fearsome sorceress. And quite suddenly, Suzy realizes the fate of the Impossible Places is in her hands...


Your reviews

Jaswinder K, 9
This is a humorous, spectacular book by the most talented,PG Bell. It begins with this curious, intelligent girl called Suzy Smith who has a great passion in physics. Oddly, one day a huge train (The Impossible Postal Express, which is run by Trolls) was right in the middle of the living room. Suzy then jumps on board and discovers herself as the new recruit! On the way Suzy witnesses unimaginable realms which were higher than anything. She was now part of the mission, which is delivering secret parcels to the most Impossible Places ever seen. Suddenly, Suzy realises she's a long way from home... Suzy then finds that the fate of The amazing Impossible Places are now in her hands!

This is a very humorous book along with a lot of action and also is very adventurous. The Impossible Places are well described and what is really clever about this book is, it's always keeping you thinking. The main character Suzy is quite brave because she's ready to do anything! Also this book has unexpected twists such as in a blink of an eye Suzy was left with a decision to make which could not be wrong... This book really stood out for me and I would recommend this book to young and old people to hop along on Suzy's amazing adventurous journey!
Clare Wilkins, 9
Suzy Smith is an ordinary girl with a passion for science whose quiet domestic existence is thrown into unexpected tumult when a tunnel appears and a train bursts through her hallway! Improbable? Yes. Impossible? No! As her blissfully unaware parents continue to slumber under a spell, a stunned (but curious) Suzy, hitches a ride on The Train to Impossible Places and begins an unimaginable adventure.

Roaming the amalgamated states of the Union, Suzy encounters strange lands and unlikely inhabitants as she becomes a postal operative under the tutelage of plucky Wilmot Grunt. Delivering packages to the far reaches of the Union as part of the Impossible Postal Service, Suzy soon finds herself in grave danger and a long way from home.

PG Bell's debut is a triumph of fantastical world-building. I loved the beautifully-described Obsidian and Ivory Towers - the bookends of a staggering universe. Heroine Suzy, always trying to do the right thing, stumbles from one precarious situation to another, often taking her new friends and colleagues with her. There are some brilliant characters - the pompous but kind-hearted train driver, Stonkers and his Ursine fireman particularly shine and become Suzy's guardian angels.

My only gripe (and it is a very slight one!) is that the ending was a little long-winded and might be slightly confusing for younger readers. Otherwise, a wonderful, action-packed read and a perfect 'next book' for fans of Nevermoor and The Wizards of Once.

346 pages / Ages 8+ / Reviewed by Clare Wilkins, school librarian.
Luke R, 11
I like that Suzy can hold her ground when she was arguing with the troll and when she took the snow globe from Lady Crepsucular because someone was trapped in it.

I found it funny when Suzy did her physics homework; as when her mum and dad told her to have a break she wouldn't and it said she had finished a hour ago but she just filled the pages up with questions. When she hands the homework in even her teacher moans at her because she writes too much!

I haven't read it all yet but I can tell it's going to be a great book.
Lily P, 7
It's not everyday a train passes through the downstairs of your house with little creatures working as all different kind of things.

Suzy is a normal, hardworking school girl who realizes that something isn't right, she hears something downstairs in the middle of the night and finds something unusual.

This book is very imaginative and there are so many unexpected surprises. This book is great for most ages, it doesn't matter how old you are to have somebody read the book to you or read it yourself as long as you understand the book.

I love how exciting this book is, you never know what will happen next and it makes you want to never put the book down. I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventures, fantasy and fiction.


 
reading zone homepage
Young Adult SchoolZone FamilyZone Library zone
ReadingZone Book Shop