ChildrensZone
 



Secret Suffragette
Barbara Mitchelhill

9781783448333

Synopsis:
Daisy's hero is Florence Nightingale, and she hopes to one day become a nurse just like her. But as a girl growing up in the East End of London in 1912, it seems like all her future holds is dropping out of school to work a tough job in a factory for very little money. Then Daisy meets the suffragettes, who are fighting for the rights of women and the poor. They show her that she might be able to achieve her dreams after all. But being a suffragette is dangerous, and Daisy must risk getting in trouble with her dad, neighbours and even the police if she wants to do her bit. Perfect for fans of Opal Plumstead and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.


Your reviews

Azra, 11
This book is about a girl who wants to become a suffragette but not all her family agree with their ideas.

I loved this book it is a great page turner. This book also showed me that you must always fight for what you believe is right. Even if it means becoming a bit of a rebel!


 
reading zone homepage
Young Adult SchoolZone FamilyZone Library zone
ReadingZone Book Shop