ChildrensZone
 



The Good Hawk
Joseph Elliott

9781406385854

Synopsis:
If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver. "A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad "A heart-warming story about friendship and courage and what it means to truly be a hero ... gripping and compelling - I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder "The Good Hawk will sweep you away. Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder "A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure ... told with heart and humour, in beautifully sparse prose, this book made me laugh with delight and gasp with surprise." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth "This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In "One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Oustide "This page-turning adventure is rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus


Your reviews

Linda Brown, 9
What an enjoyable book... It starts with a mythical map (always a good thing ) of Scotland, and then jumps straight into the story by introducing the reader to Agatha, who is the heroine of this book, but she is not the normal stereotypical character. Agatha is a 'Hawk'; she must walk the walls of her enclave to protect her clan by watching out for danger. However, things don't always turn out how she expects them to, as she is 'different' from the rest of the clan and she has the incredible ability to communicate with animals.

The other lead character in this wonderful adventure is Jaime, who is a reluctant and anxious Angler, who hates the sea! But he turns out to be far more courageous than his clan would ever think him to be.

When their clan is betrayed by enemy forces, they set out together on a terrifying rescue mission. This mission takes them to mainland Scotia, where they have been lead to believe that all the people are dead due to a plague and limb-ripping shadows that haunt the land. And the Terror Beasts!!

The story is told through the eyes of these two characters in alternative chapters, with the occasional chapter voiced by Nathara, whose words add a chilling atmosphere to the plot...

The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures. Suitable for the 10+ reader, but I must give a little warning here as there are some gruesome and chilling moments ( limb-ripping shadows!) so not for the sensitive reader.

The story would also be great for book clubs and intervention groups, primary or younger secondary, as the story is pacy and engaging. I am looking forward to the second book in this series, The Broken Raven, to see how these characters develop and get through their next adventure.

368 pages / Ages 10+ / Reviewed by Linda Brown, school librarian


 
reading zone homepage
Young Adult SchoolZone FamilyZone Library zone
ReadingZone Book Shop