Creature Teacher

Creature Teacher

Creature Teacher
Sam Watkins

Oxford University Press

ISBN 9780192742650

Jake's class finally has the best teacher in the whole world, Mr Hyde. He doesn't make them clean toilet bowls with toothbrushes and his lessons are always fun. There is just one teeny, tiny, HUGE problem. Mr Hyde transforms into a naughty, little creature whenever he becomes upset. The creature has some amazing abilities but being well-behaved isn't one of them! Jake's class will have to use all their ingenuity to hide the creature, so they can keep their brilliant teacher. But Mrs Blunt, their headmistress, is never far off the scent . . .

Librarian's Book choice


Reviews

Creature Teacher4/5

Creature Teacher

Sam Watkins

Review

Have you ever wished that your primary school teacher had brought more fun into the classroom? When new boy Jake meets his new teacher Mr Hyde outside the Headteacher's office, fun is not on the curriculum. Headteacher Mrs Blunt has over 140 rules and a punishment system which includes moving rocks. However, Mr Hyde is an innovative teacher with a scary secret - when he becomes emotional he turns into Creature - a cross between a monkey and Tasmanian Devil!

This is a humorous story about friendship, working together and celebrating diversity. Perhaps a little predictable it is nevertheless a book which will appeal to students who enjoy 'toilet humour' and wish that their teacher was less strict and more fun. Fans of Tom Gates and World of Norm will be in their element.

This is the first book in a proposed series featuring Creature, Jake and his classmates.

192 pages / Ages 7+ / Reviewed by Jennifer Hambleton, librarian

Reviewed by: Jennifer Hambleton