No Filter

No Filter

No Filter
Orlagh Collins

Bloomsbury Childrens Books

ISBN 9781408884515

This is the story of THAT SUMMER ... the one when everything changes. Emerald has grown up in a privileged world - the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald's family has secrets - and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she's being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works. Grandma's big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there's no phone signal or wifi. It's going to be a long summer ... Until she meets Liam. When you're falling in love, it's hard to tell someone everything. Even if you've got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you're used to, how do you deal with real love - brave and true - with no filter? The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Librarian's Book choice


Reviews

No Filter4/5

No Filter

Orlagh Collins

Review

The perfect summer romance, there was no need to think it through, it took you by the hand and led you through to the happy conclusion. Don't get me wrong there were some surprises but if you've to spend your days analysing Animal Farm, Lord of the Flies or A Christmas Carol then this is perfect escapism, it's gentle summer romance, it's easy reading.

An initial chance meeting on the beach introduces our two main characters: Liam, awaiting exam results and working in the Metro Service Station in order to save for college; and Emerald, heading home for the holidays after her GCSEs. Both had plans for the summer that included spending time with friends and making memories. But that's not quite what happened.

After finding her mother following what we assume is a suicide attempt, Emerald is packed off to spend summer with her Grandmother in Ireland, away from her friends and away from the summer she had planned with her friends. Even now Emerald masks her mother's drinking and her father's increasing detachment. She lies to protect this perfect image of her perfect family. The lies are like her favourite Instagram filters, presenting everything in a favourable light, hiding and disguising how she really feels, what things really look like. But when she meets Liam she begins to see her life without a filter, she can stop pretending and she's OK with that.

Liam on the other hand is feeling pushed toward a college course and a future in construction that will please his father, unfortunately this is a different path fromo the one he'd really like to follow in music production. He doesn't want to disappoint his father but he also doesn't want to drop his dreams.

Both are likeable characters sharing the narrative in alternating chapters making this an easy romantic read with obligatory family angst to keep you on your toes!

368 pages / Ages 12+ / Reviewed by Catherine Purcell.

Reviewed by: Catherine Purcell