The Garden of Lost Secrets

The Garden of Lost Secrets

The Garden of Lost Secrets
A. M. Howell

Usborne Publishing Ltd

ISBN 9781474959551

October, 1916. Clara is sent to stay with her formidable aunt and uncle in the grounds of a country estate. Clara soon discovers that her new surroundings hold secrets: a locked room and a hidden key, and a mysterious boy who only appears in the gardens at night... But can Clara face up to her own secrets, and a war she's desperate to forget?

Librarian's Book choice


Reviews

The Garden of Lost Secrets4/5

The Garden of Lost Secrets

A. M. Howell

Review

The Garden of Lost Secrets is set during The Great War in 1916. Clara has been sent to stay with her aunt and uncle who work on a large country estate. On arriving her Aunt, Mrs Gilbert, is colder than Clara had remembered and she is treated quite brusquely. Clara is warned to stay away from the Earl's hothouses and summer house, and told not to speak or make eye contact with the Earl and to keep away from the Bothy where the under-gardeners and game keepers sleep. I think Clara breaks most of these rules!

As the mystery of the fruit that has been stolen from the hothouse unfurls, there is also a secret locked room which Clara is told to leave alone and a letter from the war office that she daren't open and has kept secret from her mum. To add to these mysteries there is Will, an intriguing boy who only appears at night time and appears to vanish magically - is he a ghost? Can Will help Clara capture the pineapple thief?

I would recommend this book to readers who enjoyed The Secret Garden or Tom's Midnight Garden. It is quite a gentle read. The Garden of Lost Secrets creates a lovely nostalgic atmosphere. Although this is historical fiction set around the time of World War 1 it doesn't go into graphic detail so is perfect for a younger reader aged 9+.

304 pages / Ages 9+ / Reviewed by Clair Bossons, school librarian

Reviewed by: Clair Bossons