Orion Lost

Orion Lost

Orion Lost
Alastair Chisholm

Nosy Crow

ISBN 9781788005920

The transport ship Orion is four months out of Earth when catastrophe strikes - leaving the ship and everyone on board stranded in deep space. Suddenly it's up to thirteen-year-old Beth and her friends to navigate through treacherous and uncharted territory to reach safety.

But a heavily-damaged ship, space pirates, a mysterious alien species, and an artificial intelligence that Beth doesn't know if she can trust means that getting home has never been so difficult...

Hugely gripping, with incredible twists and a fast-paced, action-packed story, this is an unputdownable science fiction adventure - perfect for fans of Mortal Engines and Star Wars.

Librarian's Book choice

Orion Lost is an incredibly enjoyable, fast-paced classic science-fiction adventure. The story opens with the Earthship, Orion, sending out a distress signal. Immediately, I was intrigued and desperate to find out what the fate of the ship was; however, the story then very cleverly moves away from this scenario and takes the reader through the events which led up to the distress signal being sent, and beyond.

Beth McKay and her parents are aboard the Orion leaving Earth in order to colonise Eos Five, a destination that can only be reached by making 'Jumps' through space, but the Jumps require everyone to be put to Sleep. After one such Sleep, Beth is awakened by the Orion's computer hologram, Ship, to the news that she is now the Captain as none of the adults can be woken.

Only six crew members are left to run the vast ship - and they are all children, each with a talent which proves integral to their survival - if only they can learn to trust each other and work together. The young crew face many difficult challenges: manning a large spaceship which has been damaged and is in need of repair; facing space raiders and an alien species, unsure of which is more dangerous; but, perhaps the biggest challenge comes from the secrets they slowly begin to unravel as they discover there may be an enemy within...

This story is brimming with twists, danger, fast-paced action and perfectly timed revelations. The writing is superbly immersive, creating a believable space setting and technical language; a complex and exciting plot; and, engaging characters who are anything but perfect. The children are resourceful, resilient and gutsy, and learn that there is a real strength in believing in yourself, in the bonds of friendship and in working together to overcome seemingly insurmountable odds.

This is a challenging, but thoroughly gripping, space adventure for children of 10+ which raises some excellent discussion points around leadership, ethics and colonisation.

368 pages / Ages 10+ / Reviewed by Mary Rees, teacher


Reviews

Orion Lost5/5

Orion Lost

Alastair Chisholm

Review

A fast paced, engaging science fiction adventure. When Beth and a small group of other children suddenly find themselves in charge of Orion, a giant space ship, after a mysterious incident, floating in space is the least of their worries.

There are strange alien ships to worry about, not to mention The Scrapers, space pirates who travel the galaxy taking whatever they want, whenever they want it. If Beth and her rag tag crew are going to survive, they are going to have to outwit adversaries that they only know about from their school lessons.

Orion Lost is a brilliant space romp with amazing characters. It has loads of action, great storytelling and plenty of twists and turns to keep you going. If you're a fan of Star Wars, Firefly or Star Trek, you're going to absolutely love this adventure!

368 pages / Ages 9+ / Reviewed by Lucas Maxwell, school librarian

Reviewed by: Lucas Maxwell