Authors announced for YA convention

Malorie Blackman, Patrick Ness, Sophie McKenzie, Matt Haig and Darren Shan are among the authors who will take place at the UK's first Young Adult Literature Convention (YALC) in July.

The convention will take place at the London Film and Comic Convention at Earl's Court, London on Saturday 12 and Sunday 13 July 2014.

The authors will also include bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant author and self-confessed movie buff Derek Landy, 24 year old debut Natasha Ngan, publisher-turned-author Ruth Warburton and Being a Boy author James Dawson.

Further names, as well as days and times of authors’ appearances will be announced in due course.

YALC will form a highlight of Malorie Blackman's campaign as the Children's Laureate. YALC will bring together all the UK's YA publishers to provide a host of author events in a dedicated Book Zone, with talks, workshops, signings, a book sales area and publisher stands promoting new and upcoming titles.

Blackman will act as a curator for the two-day convention, uniting authors and publishers throughout the UK community.

2014's YALC event will be the first time a large scale public convention around YA books has taken place in the UK, and its setting among the fans of cultish film and TV will set books at the heart of entertainment for teens and young people.

For more information about the London Film and Comic Con, visit their website here:

10/02/2014Authors announced for YA convention

Add Your comment